How I’m teaching my daughter to check her breasts.

I know that there are sights out there informing you how to check your breasts. For me, in September 2013, my GP checked my breasts and nothing was apparent, roll on 10 months later, I now have Grade 2 breast cancer and am am having a mastectomy. *I had checked a few months AFTER the appointment myself as well!

I had been to the GP for personal reasons, (combination of feeling overwhelmed and stressed about a few things, which resulted in a rather acidic feeling tummy) and then said,  ‘by the way, I can also feel something tingling here’ – 10 months later, that is the affected area. The doctor made me raise my arm and felt, checking both breasts. She couldn’t feel anything and said that usually, feeling something tingling, is something else as with breast lumps, you can feel the lump instead of the sensation.

It was during these 10 months, the lump slowly grew and in addition to some weight loss, BOOM, there it was! I’m not going to focus too much on the weight loss as it was not as if I was next up for Britain’s biggest loser or anything like that but I do know that it’s easier identified (and possibly sooner?) if you are a healthy size. *My size will always be curvaceous, realistic and storage shall be kept for great food and wine appreciation, let’s get that clear!

*The lump that I have right now, would have been very obvious if it were this size back in September, so think it was a combination of time passing which allowed it to grow and some weight loss.

This is how I am teaching my 14 year old daughter to check :

  • Once in the running shower, lather up the soap/shower gel 
  • Step AWAY from the running water with good amounts of the soapy/lathery stuff cupped in one hand 
  • Raise your arm over, so that your elbow is as close to your head as possible and start walking your fingers down your spine – hold that position
  • Once in a comfortable-ish position, use your opposite hand that is filled with the soapy stuff, to rub over and under your breast and feel around
  • Take your time to move your hand around the breast in a circular motion, then work your way around the breast, letting your fingers walk over it, moving the tissue around 
  • With your arm still raised, slowly bring it down BUT keep at a right angle, then feel around the breast again
  • Repeat on the opposite side

I’m not a professional and do not hold any medical qualifications, I just know that I have a cancerous lump, I am the woman you know personally and this is how mine was discovered.

Much love,

Nic

x

2 thoughts on “How I’m teaching my daughter to check her breasts.

  1. It is never too early to check and get to know your own body, so that when and if changes occur, you can seek help quickly. We all know the earlier these things are found and dealt with, is far better than leaving them. Good luck Nicole. x

    Like

Leave a Reply

